The sixth conference in the series, TMC 2018 was held from 26 to 28 June 2018 and hosted by ISEG and IGOT, University of Lisbon, Lisbon, Portugal

The TMC 2018 was a forum for discussion where experts, young researchers and students, practitioners and policy makers working in the field of migration have joined the debate and exchanged their knowledge and experiences in a friendly and frank environment.

The conference was organised in thematic streams of about 140 parallel sessions and three plenary sessions, along with two developmental workshops, one photography exhibition, and four short movie screenings over three days. About 540 participants from over 60 countries have participated. Best Paper Presentation Prizes were given at the Gala Dinner on 28th June 2018 at Alentejo House in Lisbon.

Conference venue was ISEG (School of Economics and Management) at University of Lisbon in Portugal’s capital. Participants have also enjoyed the city’s museums and many attractions nearby. Directions to the campus can be found here. The registration desk area, parallel session rooms and plenary session halls for the TMC2018 can be seen on the campus map of ISEG.

We thank to our hosts, reviewers, participants, supporting organisations and team of volunteers who collaboratively made the event a success.

Prof Ibrahim Sirkeci, Prof João Peixoto, Prof Maria Lucinda Fonseca
The Migration Conference 2018 Chairs

Invited Speakers at TMC 2018 Lisbon

Joaquin Arango, Professor of Sociology, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Ruba Salih, Reader in Gender Studies, SOAS, University of London, UK
Jeffrey H. Cohen, Professor of Anthropology, Ohio State University, USA
Pedro Calado, The High Commissioner for Migration, Lisbon, Portugal
Michelle Leighton, Chief of the Labour Migration Branch, International Labour Organization, Genève, Switzerland
Philip L. Martin, Emeritus Professor, University of California, Davis, USA

In previous years, The Migration Conferences entertained distinguished scholars delivering key note speeches including: Professor Sasskia Sassen, Columbia University, USA [2017], Professor Oded Stark, U of Bonn, Germany [2017], Professor Giuseppe Sciortino, University of Trento, Italy [2017], Professor Caroline Brettell, Southern Methodist University, USA [2015], Professor Barry Chiswick, George Washington University, USA [2014], Professor Karen Phalet, KU Leuven, Belgium [2016], Professor Douglas S. Massey, Princeton University, USA [2015], Professor Ibrahim Sirkeci, Regent’s University London, UK [2014, 2016], Professor Jeffrey H. Cohen, Ohio State University, USA [2012, 2015], Professor Samim Akgonul, Strasbourg University, France [2016], Dr Nedim Gürsel, CNRS, CETOBaC & INALCO, France, Turkey [2015], Professor Philip L. Martin, University of California, Davis, USA [2014, 2015], Professor Tariq Modood, University of Bristol, United Kingdom [2012], Professor Kemal Kirisci, Bogazici University, Turkey [2012]